Skip navigation


Finnish Version Communist Manifesto found in my attic while cleaning, printed by Union label in Hanover Michigan 1906!

Finnish Version Communist Manifesto found in my attic while cleaning, printed by Union label in Hanover Michigan 1906!

front facing pages

front facing pages

I was working on getting my attic cleaned up. When the roof was re-done, well before I lived here, the roofers (inadvertently) knocked copious amounts of dirt, wood, nails and the like into the attic. I sleep in the attic in a small walled off area that’s pretty cozy, for the most part. The problem is that we have cats. Cats like dirt, far better than a cat box. This wouldn’t be a problem if I didn’t sleep up there. Since I do sleep up there, the drop down door/ladder needs to be left open so I can get down in the morning. As a result, the cats go up there into far off corners and do comparative studies to find the ideal substrate in which to bury their bodily excretions. Not nice. I have been working on cleaning up the attic, but it is quite a chore. I can only do so much at once in order not to inhale more than my fare share of wood, dirt and other debris. Additionally, I just can’t crouch down for more than a couple hours!

In any event, I was cleaning up there and found this Finnish version of Karl Marx’s Communist Manifesto, printed in Hanover Michigan by Union Label (press) in 1906. It is in remarkably good shape and quite complete. The cover has some issues, and there are moisture stains here and there, but none of the pages are torn or missing. Pretty cool to think that at some point, my home housed at least one potential Finnish Communist. Life is weird!

Mmore from Finnish version of Communist Manifesto. I can't read it, but I feel connected to people that used to live here by way of it.

More from Finnish version of Communist Manifesto. I can't read it, but I feel connected to people that used to live here by way of it.

6 Comments

  1. I’ll bet you find some other interesting, probably lucrative, stuff up there. The pay-off in working on hoarding issues can be “cash”. This would sell on E-bay for sure. Good luck to you.

    Chris at http://www.organize-more-stress-less.com

    • Chris,
      Thanks for the visit and the encouraging words!

  2. I had no notion that the necessity for home website link creating support was so elevated. I assume which once another person gets the grasp of attaching links to the ideal sites which the procedure should get simpler each time, and if the requirement is basically growing, after that there is quite a bit of cash to be forced as a result of this company.

    • I am not quite sure what your comment is referring to. Would you mind clarifying?
      Thank you.
      -Pauline

  3. Thank you for sharing superb informations. Your web site is very cool. I am impressed by the details that you have on this site. It reveals how nicely you understand this subject. Bookmarked this website page, will come back for extra articles. You, my friend, ROCK! I found simply the information I already searched everywhere and simply could not come across. What a great web-site.

    • Thank you very much! I appreciate the feedback. I am off track again, as my classroom has been in need of my attention in a similar fashion.


Leave a Reply

