Skip navigation


books and clothes 002

As a hoarder of knowledge, and not just of things, I find that books are especially hard to get rid of. I am making my first foray into my bookshelves since beginning the blog. It is best to do this with some rapidity. Like pulling a bandage, it is best to scan the shelf quickly, document and bag, before I decide  I really do need to read Aku-Aku by Thor Hyerdahl, or the Ajanta Caves, Early Buddhist paintings from India. Or perhaps to re-read Inherit the Wind for the umpteenth time.  I feel I am terribly uninformed and know painfully little about the world around me. There is so much to know that I could never possibly learn and retain even a fraction of it. Still, the desire to learn is always there. The truth is that I can give a way loads of books and still have plenty to read. I donated eleven large boxes of books to the local rummage sale to support the new autism preschool program and I didn’t even make a dent.

I have put together one box of books and magazines to get rid of. This is only a tiny dent in my far too large library,  but at least it is a start!

I’ve also put together a bag of clothes, mostly. Including some very nice things, that I just won’t wear no matter how nice they are.

I am not sure why I am so inclined to hang on to stuff. I’m working on figuring it out.

I’m not sure if I’ve written this yet, but I realized, recently that I’ve never fully moved into anywhere I’ve ever lived as an adult. I’ve always had some boxes still packed, or pictures not up. I’ve gotten progressively worse over the years about settling into each new place. I’d thought this was about time, and my busy life style. I think, now, it may have more to do with denial, and not wanting to accept my life. I think it is time to get unpacked, settle, and assess. Only then can I change.

I’ve go two more bags to go to Paul Bunyan or Granny’s Attic. We’ll see what’s open tomorrow.

Good night.

-Pauline

Awaiting donation.

Awaiting donation.

2 Comments

  1. What I did to manage decluttering my books was to enter them into LibraryThing. It got easier to sort them out because the ones that I didn’t care enough about to enter got put into the give pile.

    It helps that I live in very walkable distance from the library, so books I know that if I ever EVER feel like reading again, I can get my hands on. Therefore my Kon-Tikis and Bell Jars were clearly giveawayable, unless the individual book was signed or something like that.

    I wish there were libraries for clothes, so I could give away more of those without worry. 🙂

    • Thank you Connie!
      I just joined. It looks very interesting. I have been looking for a categorization system that works. Sound great.
      The link, for anyone that wants it is: http://www.librarything.com This is not a ‘hot’ link. I will add it to links on my blog.
      As for clothes, I am starting to think of the local thrift stores as my local clothes library. THings come back around!
      -Pauline


Leave a Reply

